Pseudo-posole (Crock Pot Chicken Tomatillo Stew)

So as I’ve told you, I’m tomatillo-tastic right now, garden-wise. When browsing for recipes that use a lot of them, I kept stumbling on posole.

Now, I didn’t have any hominy and I’m trying to avoid too much excess grocery spending. But I thought I could do something with this idea regardless. Barley, which I bought awhile back and have barely touched since, seemed a logical swap.

I turned to this recipe for inspiration. Except I changed the main protein. And the grain. And the method of cooking. Oh well, that’s why it’s inspiration!

stew

1-1.5 pounds chicken, cubed

1 quart chicken stock

1 cup and a little more beer

1 onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

about 15 tomatillos, chopped

1 hot chile or jalapeno, chopped

3/4 cup barley, uncooked

juice of 1 lime

cilantro, chopped

olive oil

fresh thyme to taste

cumin

salt and pepper

Sautee your onion and garlic in a little oil (this step may be unnecessary, but I did it). Do the same with your tomatillos. Deglaze pan with a little beer.

Combine all ingredients, including those you cooked, except cilantro, in crock pot. Season to taste.

Cook on low all day.

When home, adjust seasonings if needed. Sprinkle in cilantro. Serve with crusty bread and (optional) crushed tortilla chips on top.

3 Comments

Filed under crock pot, main dishes, soup

3 responses to “Pseudo-posole (Crock Pot Chicken Tomatillo Stew)

  1. Jen

    I’m really glad you posted this, because I was interested to see how that recipe turned out for you. I’d like to try it myself…this looks like it was nice and as I don’t like hominy, I think I will give your barley suggestion a try! Looks great!

  2. Pingback: Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » August 2009 Roundup

  3. Pingback: August 2009 Roundup « The Random Item

Leave a Reply

