Turkey and white bean chili

The flavors in this crock pot dish were very nice, but the chili was more watery than I would have liked. Cornstarch didn’t thicken quite enough – I think I used too much broth, but I wonder if there’s something else I could have done. Note: Many recipes I saw called for diced chiles – I would have totally added this if I had it on hand, as it would have lent a good kick.

1 package ground turkey

1 onion, chopped into pieces

1 green pepper, chopped into pieces

2 cloves garlic, chopped

handful cremini mushrooms, sliced

1 can white beans, drained

chicken broth (a lot – didn’t measure, but used portions of two open quarts)

1 spoonful homemade salsa

white pepper

cumin

smoked paprika

dash “sunny spain” seasoning

chili powder

cornstarch slurry, for thickening

olive oil

juice of one lime

Brown turkey meat in oil. Combine all ingredients (season as you like with the spices) except broth in crock pot. Pour in broth to cover ingredients (I’d use less next time around). Cook all day on low.

1 Comment

Filed under crock pot, main dishes, poultry

One response to “Turkey and white bean chili

  1. Pingback: White Chicken Chili « Missy’s Recipes

Leave a Reply

