WW Paella

We needed a slow-cooker friendly recipe for today, since we’re off to get our taxes done at 7. When I saw WW had a crock pot paella recipe, I was a little skeptical. And while this recipe could use some refining, it still made for a tasty dinner – the flavors blend nicely.

I added saffron but it’s not required. I missed the seafood and sausage, to be sure, but if you think of this more as a Spanish chicken and rice dish, it’s not so bad, hehe.

A couple notes: This called for 4 thighs/1 lb of chicken. I found 3 thighs were pretty close to a pound already so only used three. The recipe uses white rice – I used leftover brown (cooked arborio would be ideal, but then you’re not using up leftovers).

The recipe said each serving = 1.5 cups – it came out closer to 1.25 cups per serving here.

Additionally, this recipe was a little soup-y. I might cut the broth down next time, but I also drained the paella and found that also worked out ok.

3 boneless chicken thighs, cut into pieces

2 tomatoes, chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1/2 cup chicken broth

3 garlic cloves, chopped

pinch fresh oregano, chopped

1 tsp ground turmeric

a couple threads saffron, crushed a little w/ your fingers

1/3 cups frozen green peas

2 cups cooked brown rice  (if using leftover, I might recommend heating up, as this cooled down the mixture a little when I used cold)

salt to taste

Add all ingredients except peas and rice to crock pot. Cook on low all day.

15 minutes before eating, remove lid and stir in rice and peas. Adjust seasoning if needed.

WW Points: 6 points per serving (serves 4).

PointsPlus: 7

2 Comments

Filed under crock pot, main dishes, poultry, rice dishes, WW-friendly

2 responses to “WW Paella

  1. Jen

    Made this today…I needed something easy and that I could eat early, since I have a pile to do tonight. I liked it a lot! Mine was a little soupy as well, but I did use the 1/2 c. since I tend to like things a little more liquid-y. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of paprika as well…yum.
    Great, thanks Missy!!

Leave a Reply

