Honey-Wine Braised Chicken Thighs w/ Mustard Greens

I love love love loved this recipe. Great way to use up greens, and a great sweet savory combo for a dish. I braised this on the stove: the recipe recommends doing so in an oven, but I couldn’t justify turning mine on in this heat. Turned out just fine.

2.5 tsp sesame oil (they recommend dark; I used regular)

6  skinless, boneless chicken thighs

1 red onion (white is also fine), chopped

3/4 cup chicken broth

1/3 cup dry sherry (recipe recommends Shaoxing wine if you have it, but apparently it’s the only Asian pantry ingredient I DON’T have)

2 1/2  tbsp fresh ginger (or in my case, a big squeeze of ginger-in-a-tube)

3  tbsp  oyster sauce

2  tbsp  honey

4 cloves garlic, minced

salt

1 .5  lbs  mustard greens, stems removed and coarsely chopped (note: I didn’t measure; I just used the entire batch of greens I had from the CSA)

1  tablespoon  sesame seeds, toasted

Heat a large Dutch oven over high heat; add oil to pan. Add chicken (season with salt); cook 4 minutes on each side or until browned. Add onion; cook for 4 minutes. Reduce heat; add broth and wine, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Stir in ginger, oyster sauce, honey, and garlic. Cover and braise on low heat for 30 minutes.

Shred chicken with 2 forks; return to pan. Place pan over medium-low heat. Add half of greens to pan; cover. Cook 5 minutes or until greens wilt; stir well. Repeat procedure with remaining greens. Cook mixture, covered, another 10-15 minutes. Adjust seasoning if needed (I thought it needed more salt for balance, and added a decent amount). Sprinkle w/ sesame seeds.

Serves 6. According to Cooking Light’s nutritional info, this is 8 WW points per serving (seems a little high for me, but I don’t feel like recalculating). I served over rice.

3 Comments

Filed under main dishes, poultry, WW-friendly

3 responses to “Honey-Wine Braised Chicken Thighs w/ Mustard Greens

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Recipes This Year | Missy's Recipes

  2. Pingback: What Dishes Do You Make The Most? | Missy's Recipes

  3. Pingback: Dishes I Like to Make for a Crowd | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

