Chickpea and Sausage Soup

I’m really into this soup recipe. And I thought it was going to be a letdown, because before seasoning it and adding the sausage, it seemed so bland. But it really came together into something special. I also may be becoming a dried beans convert, though I feel bad given how much I’ve praised the convenience of canned ones before. Well, there’s room for both, I say.

I think it’s important to use a sausage with personality here. I used a slightly greasy lamb merguez that was full of flavor, and it really brought some depth to the dish.

This is a bit time consuming, but I found it was a great dish to make ahead and eat on another day. I soaked the beans during the day, cooked the soup at night after dinner, and reheated it for the following night’s meal.

1.5 cups dried chickpeas

8 oz sausage (I used lamb merguez)

salt and pepper (and plenty of it)

one onion, chopped

one carrot, chopped

1 stalk bok choy, chopped (celery is recommended by the recipe, but I don’t like it and didn’t have any)

3 sprigs rosemary

7 cloves garlic (5 sliced, 2 minced)

olive oil to garnish (optional; I didn’t use)

Soak chickpeas overnight or during the day. Drain.

Cover chickpeas with two inches water in a large pot. Add rosemary and 5 slices garlic. Bring to a boil and simmer, partially covered, for at least an hour (I think I did about 1:15), until chickpeas are almost firm.

Remove rosemary. Add onions, carrot and bok choy. Turn heat up and cook another 20-30 minutes, until chickpeas are tender. While that is cooking, slice sausage and broil until cooked through.

Puree half the soup with a stick blender. Stir in sausage. Season generously with salt and pepper. Serve warm, with bread, drizzled with oil if you like.

Leave a comment

Filed under soup

Leave a Reply

