Kitchen Resolutions 2013

It’s that time of year again! I didn’t finish all my 2012 resolutions, mostly because the Cookbook Challenge ended up being a lot more time consuming than I thought. I’ll move a couple of the four uncompleted goals over to this year, but am taking on some new challenges, too. Here’s what I am thinking, but I may adjust these a little with more thoughts.

1) Cook low carb in January. John and I are doing this to peel off some extra holiday poundage. I’ve actually never cooked low carb before, so it’s proving to be an interesting experiment. Additionally, I will spend one month cooking only Recipes I’ve Made Before. Which sort of sounds like the reverse of a typical Missy challenge, but I’ve noticed that because I get so overly ambitious in the kitchen, we don’t get to eat some of our favorites nearly enough (or even try some recipes twice), so this will be an attempt to reign this in consciously. I originally was going to make it Familiar Favorites February, but I don’t really feel like doing two (or three, if we do Meatless March) theme months in a row, so expect this later in the year.

2) Make the ramen recipe from the Momofuku cookbook. Which looks daunting. I see this being the one I procrastinate on.

3) Cook more Cook’s Illustrated recipes. I have a ton of CI magazines I’ve bought over the years, but have made hardly any recipes from them. I finally put the good-looking ones into a database so they’re accessible to me, and I’m going to try to make a bunch of them this year.

4) Make tempura: I don’t know why I’ve never made this before, as I love tempura and can’t imagine that it’s too hard.

5) Make octopus or squid. A holdover from last year.

6) Cook goat in some form. Another holdover.

7) Make paneer. Doesn’t look too hard, and would be a good meatless option to have in the repertoire.

8) Homemade Jerky: Got a food dehydrator for Christmas, so this is a no-brainer.

9) Host a Scotch-themed dinner party. This one’s already in the planning stages.

10) Attempt miso soup from scratch.

1 Comment

Filed under technique

One response to “Kitchen Resolutions 2013

  1. Pingback: Missy’s 2014 Kitchen Goals | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

