Favorite Recipes of 2012

I’m way late on chronicling these, but hey. I like these posts as a reference point when I’m looking to make recipes I’ve tried before but haven’t made for awhile. I cooked from recipes a bit more than usual in 2012, somewhat due to the Cookbook Challenge, but as a result I found some keepers. Here’s the recipe roundup from 2012.

Missy Creations
Portobello Stro-Hos: Technically more of an adaptation than a Missy recipe, this is probably our favorite go-to vegetarian recipe.
Haloumi Salad with Tabbouleh and Cucumbers: My riff on a dish from my favorite DC wine bar, Room 11.
Vietnamese Clams with Shrimp Chips: Another restaurant-inspired dish (from our neighborhood Vietnamese place, Present).

John’s Recipes
Roasted Veggie and Goat Cheese Sandwiches: If there was one dish I made the most frequently in 2012, it was this. I prepared for lunch just about every Saturday, as it was an ideal way to use up CSA veggies. And the capers add so much flavor!
Steak Frites with Roquefort Butter: Steak and Bleu Cheese is just about my all-time favorite flavor combo, which made this an ideal Valentine’s Day dinner from John.

Lighter Fare
Lemon Braised Chicken with White Beans and Pesto: This is lighter if you don’t include the rice, as a caveat, but this is one of those dishes I crave if I haven’t prepared it in awhile.
Indonesian Swordfish: This marinade is nice with chicken thighs, too.
Warm Butternut Squash Salad: This dish surprised me with how much I enjoyed it (butternut squash is not one of my favorite ingredients).

Homey but Heavier
Chicken Fricasse w Chive Dumplings: This is the kind of old school dish I rarely make, but was a big hit from the Betty Crocker cookbook.
Chicken Cordon Bleu: John would probably be happy if I made this every week. He would also probably be fat.

Weeknight-Friendly
Hangar Steak with Charred Pepper Sauce: This is distinctive for the sauce, which I could eat with just about anything.
Ginger Scallion Noodles: An awesome sauce that can be used for just about any stir fried noodle variation.
Chicken Ricotta Meatballs: I’m actually surprised I haven’t made these more frequently, given how much I liked the reicpe.

Worth the Effort
Cassoulet: Most time consuming and probably most impressive dish of the year.
Lamb with Chickpeas and Pomegranate: A festive special occasion dish.
Beef Carbonnade: Thanks for this one, Julia Child.
Homemade ricotta: Not as hard as it sounds.
Chicken Tagine: This is a good dinner party option.

Best Breakfasts
Potato and Avocado Hash: From my Hungover Cookbook. An unusual but perfect combinations of flavors.
Buttermilk Cornmeal Pancakes: Apparently cornmeal is what I needed to turn myself into a pancake fan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

