Beef Negamaki and Chicken Yakitori

Mm, izakaya night. I wanted to make negamaki but was worried I didn’t have enough steak, so I decided to throw together some yakitori with the same marinade.

izakaya

 

This is more of a guide than a recipe. I marinated london broil, pounded thin, as well as chicken thighs and chicken breasts, in a mix of soy sauce and mirin. At least 40 minutes, but longer is fine.

Then I cut the negamaki into strips and rolled them with scallions in between. For the yakitori, I cut into chunks and threaded onto skewers with scallions.

These can be cooked either in the broiler on the stove – I basically did some in each, so I could time the dinner to come out at the same time. Served with asparagus cooked with sesame oil, sesame seeds and red pepper flakes.

Leave a comment

Filed under beef dishes, poultry

Leave a Reply

