Recipe Adaptation: Vegetable Tagine

So I thought I was going to end up making an entirely new vegetable tagine recipe for dinner. Then I just decided to adapt my chicken one instead. It’s basically the same recipe with no meat and some different veggies and ingredients. Note: I think I ended up overcooking the veggies. This is because I made this dish ahead of time, left the lid on for like an extra hour, etc. If I had just taken it off the stove after the initial cooking time, it would have been the texture I wanted (John liked it the way it was, so I’m probably overanalyzing anyway).

vegtagine

1 can chickpeas
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic
1/3 head cauliflower

6-8 small new potatoes, quartered
1/4 cup dried apricots, chopped
1/2 fennel bulb, chopped
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1/3 red pepper, chopped
8-10 brussels sprouts, halved
3 carrots, peeled and sliced
3 slices preserved lemon, chopped
1 tbsp ginger
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tps coriander
1 cup veggie stock, plus more as needed
salt and pepper
Brown onion and garlic in a sautee pan with spices (this is because I don’t have a diffuser, so I can’t turn my tagine up to high heat). Add to tagine with broth. Bring broth to a boil. Add remaining veggies and ingredients and simmer for 45-50 minutes. Serve over couscous.
Leave a comment

Filed under vegetarian

Leave a Reply

