Warm Quinoa Salad with Chicken, Feta and Veggies

And here’s lunch #3 using spicy chicken thighs. So versatile.

I was going to make yesterday’s salad for lunch again today but I was in the mood for something warm. I had quinoa on the brain because I’d paired it with Aunt Barb Meatballs last night. So I used most of the same salad ingredients (lost the lettuce), whipped up a different dressing and cooked some quinoa. Viola! A very filling and satisfying lunch that made me forget about the fried chicken article I’d just been reading hungrily.

quinoasalad

3/4 cups quinoa (you’ll have a little leftover)

1.5 cups vegetable broth

5 oz spicy chicken thighs, cubed

1/2 oz feta, crumbled

leftover veggies: I had cooked asparagus, cooked corn, tomatoes, radishes and cucumbers

1 tbsp easy lemon vinaigrette (oil, lemon juice and grainy mustard mixed together with salt)

Bring broth to a boil. Add quinoa and turn down heat. Simmer until water is absorbed and quinoa is cooked (about 15 minutes).

Reheat chicken thighs (I just microwaved them). Stir quinoa with dressing, chicken, cheese and veggies.

Leave a comment

Filed under salads

Leave a Reply

