Crockpot Spinach and Mushroom Lasagna with Pesto

I have mixed feelings about this recipe. It wasn’t bad (especially given my skepticism at the idea of crockpot lasagna), but there’s room for improvement. I took the commenters’ advice to use regular lasagna noodles (soaked ahead of time), basically because I didn’t have any no-boil noodles in the house and tend to have bad luck with them anyway. The texture of the noodles was fine, if not perfect. In general, I prefer lasagna with meat, and I wasn’t hot on the fat free ricotta.

So if I made this again, I’d add some ground turkey, use regular ricotta and brown the finished product for a couple minutes under a broiler or something to add crispiness. That said, filling and certainly edible. I think John liked it more than I did. I halved the original recipe without issue (somewhat necessary since I was cooking it in a round rather than an oval crockpot).

lasagnacrock

  • 2 cups torn spinach
  • 1 cups sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup pesto (I used homemade
  • 1.5 oz shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1.5 oz shredded provolone cheese
  • 1/2 (15-ounce) carton fat-free ricotta cheese
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1.5 oz grated fresh Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1 (25.5-ounce) bottle fat-free tomato-basil pasta sauce or homemade marinara
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 (8-ounce) package lasagna noodles (6 noodles), soaked for 20 min in warm water to make pliable

Arrange the spinach in a vegetable steamer; steam, covered, 3 minutes or until spinach wilts (I just did this in a skillet with a little broth). Drain, squeeze dry, and coarsely chop. Combine spinach, mushrooms, and pesto in a medium bowl, stirring to combine; set aside.

Combine mozzarella, provolone, ricotta, and beaten egg in a medium bowl, stirring well to combine. Stir in  about half the Parmesan, and set aside.

Layer lasagna in this order: sauce, noodles (about 1.5 per layer), cheese, spinach mixture. Repeat until you’re out of fillings. Top with remaining parmesan.

Cover with lid; cook on LOW 4-5 hours or until done.

Leave a comment

Filed under crock pot, pasta dishes, vegetarian

Leave a Reply

