Veggie Burgers with Quinoa and Cheese

I liked these a lot!

I was skeptical whether they’d stay together, but they did. I let them chill for a half hour in the fridge before frying them, and it looked like some of the egg binder had pooled into the middle of the plate, so I was concerned that’d be an issue, but they were fine.

These are a nice texture; they almost melt into the bun. The recipe warns about cooking them on too high of heat, but I turned them up to medium/medium high without issue – that helped them crisp and cook through better.

quinoaburgers

2 rounded cups cooked quinoa 

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese 

1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese

1 medium carrot, finely grated (zucchini also works)

3 eggs

3 tablespoons all purpose flour

2 green onions, including white parts

1 /2 teaspoon  sugar (I forgot this by accident; I think it’s just there for balancing the flavor a bit)

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin (I used taco seasoning because we were out)

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder (I used 1 clove fresh)

Olive oil for frying

In a large bowl combine the 2 rounded cups of cooked quinoa, cheddar cheese, cottage cheese, carrot, eggs, flour, green onions, sugar, pepper, cumin, salt, and garlic powder. At this point, I chilled the burgers for 30 minutes.

Heat a frying pan and a couple teaspoons olive oil over medium-low heat (or in my case, medium to medium high; just play with it).  Mixture will be slightly sticky, so using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, drop mixture into pan and lightly flatten to 1/2 inch thick.  Fry until golden-brown, about 4-5 minutes on each side.   Makes approx. 10 burgers.

Note: We served these on English muffins (I only did a half) with lettuce, onion and avocado. I think a flavored mayo would be nice here, too.

1 Comment

Filed under sandwiches, vegetarian

One response to “Veggie Burgers with Quinoa and Cheese

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Recipes of 2013 | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

