My Favorite Recipes of 2013

I actually liked most of the recipes I tried in 2013, so it was hard to narrow the list (and let’s be real; I didn’t narrow it down much). Non surprising trends: I tended to like non-beef burger/meatball recipes and America’s Test Kitchen/Cooking Light/Ina Garten recipes. Editor’s Note: If I end up really liking the chicken scarpariello I’m making tomorrow night for John-Missy-Christmas, I’ll add it to the list. 😉

Labor/time intensive or just fit for company:
Osso Bucco (Ina Garten). Great for entertaining and yet relatively easy.
Chicken Tikka Masala (America’s Test Kitchen) Good to find a solid version of this dish
John’s Turkey Meatloaf (Not sure, but John made it regardless) My favorite from John Cooks May
Scallops Provencal (Ina) Ended up being Easter Dinner and then made it again for my parents, who loved it.
Lamb Guinness Stew (Cooking Light) The main course of our Scotch Night party

Weekday meals:
Buffalo Chicken Burgers (Serious Eats) I love anything buffalo wing flavored and these were nice and juicy
Lighter Chicken Tetrazzini (CL) This is nice because the recipe makes one for now and one to freeze. I made it for a party, brought it to a friend who just had a baby, etc.
Homemade Chicken Nuggets (ATK) Just fun.
Pork Loin with Jon’s Chile Coffee Rub (a John/Jon collaboration). Delicious, and the leftovers last all week. On that note, also loved pork and broccoli rabe sandwiches with said leftovers
Lighter Deep Dish Pizza (Cooking Light) Made this one several times. First time I really enjoyed deep dish much.

Recipes I made up and loved:
Spatchcocked Chicken with Squash, Potatoes and Salsa Verde A weird amalgam of recipes I’d read before that turned out really impressive.
Turkey Meatball Banh Mi Threw these together for an impromptu lunch and loved ’em.
Halibut with Pea Puree and Vegetables Tasted restaurant quality.
Quick-Pickled Korean Carrots Super easy and versatile.
Meat-in-a-Box Inspired Salmon Kabobs A good job adapting a restaurant dish.
Pizzeria Salad Recreating a flavor I missed from childhood.

Best Fish/Vegetarian:
Bibimbap  (CL) (actually, the first time I made this it was with beef, but I’ve since made it several times since using shrimp or just vegetables) My favorite breakfast of the year.
Veggie Burgers with Quinoa and Cheese (Eating Well, Living Thin, found just Googling) First time I’ve been satisfied with a homemade veggie burger.
Shrimp Burgers (ATK) I could eat these every week.
Becky’s Awesome Quinoa (CL, via Becky) Became a versatile side dish in our rotation.
White Pizza (adapted from Mark Bittman) I think I like my homemade white pizza better than my homemade regular pizza.

Projects
Whole Wheat, No-Knead Bread (adapted from Jim Lahey/New York Times) I made bread! Several times during the winter, actually.
Homemade Beef Jerky (Jam it, Pickle it, Cure it) At least we used the dehydrator a little?
Drunken Blondies (adapted from Amateur Gourmet) May be a stretch in this category but I don’t have a better one, but I finally made a dessert I liked!
Pretzels Time consuming but not too tough.
Gravlax A fun recipe based on an interview I did for work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

