Mike’s Chicken and Broccoli White Pizza

My friend Mike made a variety of pizzas for a recent game night, and this was my favorite. I decided, with his guidance, to recreate it at home. It uses the Joy of Cooking crust recipe, though it divides it into three rather than two. I love broccoli on pizza. Pictured before baking (yes, I am pretty free form with my pies).

chickenbroccoli

4 cups all purpose flour

1 1/3 cup water

1 teaspoon salt

1 package yeast

2 tbsp olive oil, plus a little more for brushing and for cooking the chicken

1 head broccoli, cut into florets (if you only make two pizzas, as I did, you’ll have some left over)

1-1.5 breasts chicken, cut into pieces (I used 1 breast, but I only made two out of three pizzas)

2-3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese (I used two, but again, only made two pizzas)

salt and pepper

Dissolve yeast in warm water for about 5 minutes. Combine flour, olive oil and salt. Add water and yeast to mixture and knead for 10 minutes (I did this with the dough hook on my mixer). Let rest, covered, for at least two hours.

Cut dough into three pieces. Roll into balls (I froze one) and roll flat. Brush with olive oil.

Preheat oven to 450. While that’s happening, sautee chicken chunks in a little olive oil (season with salt and pepper) until cooked through.

Top pizzas with cheese, chicken and broccoli. Bake until crust is crispy (start checking at 15 minutes but ours took longer. We like this crust borderline burnt).

Leave a comment

Filed under main dishes, poultry

Leave a Reply

