Cherry Marcona Almond Blondies

I knew I had to make this recipe when I saw it, given I love marcona almonds and blondies are one of the few desserts I really like (and make well).

I ended up using rosemary marconas because that’s what I got at the store. I thought the rosemary worked well in the dish, but I could see that not being for everyone. If you bring these to a party, I recommend making a double batch.

Note: I recommend putting a layer of greased parchment paper in the pan when baking them. I made one this way (a trick I learned making bourbon blondies) and one the recipe’s way, and the parchment ones came out better and were easier to remove from the pan.

13990335480_e02086a7d4_m

1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup honey
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup dried cherries
1/2 cup Marcona almonds
parchment paper and cooking spray, for preparing pan

Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking dish (8×8) with parchment paper sprayed with cooking spray.

Whisk together flour, salt, and baking powder. In a large bowl, whisk together melted butter, sugar, and honey until creamy, about 2 minutes (I did this in the standing mixer). Whisk in egg and vanilla. Add dry ingredients to bowl and stir together until combined. Stir in dried cherries.

Pour batter into pan and smooth top with a spatula. Sprinkle almonds evenly over the top. Bake until golden and a cake tester inserted into the middle comes out clean, 25-30 minutes (I did 30). Cool before cutting into squares.

Leave a comment

Filed under desserts

Leave a Reply

