Stuffed Portabellos with Ricotta and Lamb Sausage

I love it when dishes I make up turn out well.

This doesn’t look pretty, but it tasted terrific. I got the idea when watching someone on Food Network make calzones. My thought process: “I could go for a calzone. Not exactly low-carb. Hmm.” I used homemade ricotta for this; I think that plus the excellent lamb sausage really made a difference here (we also had really nice mushrooms from the market).

We served this with broccoli rabe and some strawberries tossed with basil, a pinch of sugar and white balsamic vinegar.
14226075161_7e1ee8ea43_m

6 portabella caps, stems and gills removed

8 oz lamb sausage (I used mild)

about 1 cup shredded part skim mozzarella, plus a bit more for sprinkling

1-2 tbsp parmesan

about 1 cup (probably a little less) ricotta (homemade is great)

marinara sauce (about 1 cup, maybe a little more; I made my own)

1 tbsp chopped basil

1 onion, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

cooking spray

salt and pepper

two cloves garlic, chopped

Preheat oven to 350.

Heat oil in pan. Sautee onion and garlic until soft. Add lamb sausage and brown. Drain.

Put mushrooms in a baking dish, scraped side up. Spray with cooking spray and season with salt and pepper.

In a bowl, combine ricotta, mozzarella, chopped basil and sausage.

Spoon ricotta mixture into mushroom caps. Spoon sauce on top of each mushroom. Top with a bit more mozzarella and the parmesan.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under lamb dishes, main dishes

Leave a Reply

