Recipe Variations: Greek Meatballs with Spaghetti Squash

Yes, we had meatballs twice this weekend. I’m not sorry.

Readers know I struggle with spaghetti squash. I have to say, this is about the most I’ve liked it. Add lamb to anything, I guess, and I’m at least a little happy.

All I did was halve a spaghetti squash, and roast it for about 45 minutes at 400 degrees (brushed with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper). While that was happening, I made a batch of these meatballs (I used half lamb sausage, half ground lamb, and already had the sauce made in the freezer from last time).

Once the squash was cooked, I let it cool 10 minutes. Then I fluffed the squash so it was in spaghetti strands, but still in the squash boat itself. I mixed each half of the squash with half of the sauce, then topped them with meatballs, and some additional crumbled feta (I had a few meatballs left over). Good stuff. Makes about five servings, especially if you use the extra meatballs.

14330511174_424d27600d_m

 

Leave a comment

Filed under lamb dishes

Leave a Reply

