Peach and Pistachio Bars

I had an urge to bake something the day of John’s surgery (stir crazy, I guess), and this recipe came up on Smitten Kitchen. I was sold, especially given I had all the ingredients on hand (well, with a bit of substituting). I used a bit smaller pan than I was supposed to, which was a slight issue (took a bit longer, etc.), but they were delicious. I was particularly enamored with the pistachio filling.

14673874348_def13f02a0_m

Crust
1 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon table salt (I used a little more)
1/4  sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter

Filling
4 oz shelled unsalted pistachios (I used half pistachios and half walnuts)
1 tablespoon flour
Few pinches of salt
6 tablespoons sugar
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 large egg
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1 pound peaches or apricots

To finish
Powdered sugar or 1/4 cup apricot jam (I forgot this step)

Heat your oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8×8 inch pan with parchment paper. Spray with cooking spray.

Combine the flour, salt and sugar in the bowl of a food processor. Cut the butter into chunks, and add it to the bowl, and run for about a minute. Bake for 15 minutes. Throw in the freezer for about 15 minutes to cool.

Grind your pistachios, sugar, flour and salt together in the food processor. Cut the butter into chunks and add it to the machine. Run the machine until no buttery bits are visible. Add any flavorings and egg and blend for a bit.

Spread nut filling over crust. Add peaches on top of filling (I just kind of plopped them, or you can fan them prettily).

Bake the bars for 60 minutes or until cooked through (test with a toothpick). Mine took about 75 minutes. Allow to cool and cut into squares. Dust with glaze or powdered sugar if desired (I was going to do powdered sugar, but forgot).

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

