Teriyaki Sauce

It’s weird to me that I don’t think I’ve ever made homemade teriyaki before. Maybe when I was right out of school, before I had this blog. It’s actually really easy to make the sauce, I discovered, even if it can be a little feisty (leave it on the stove too high; it’ll turn to caramel. Cook the food marinated in it at too high a temperature? It’ll burn). We made salmon teriyaki for dinner and chicken teriyaki for lunch, and still have a little left over.

1 cup mirin

1/2 cup sake

1 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup brown sugar

Combine ingredients. Bring to a boil and then turn down to a simmer. Cook for 20 minutes or until thick.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

