Ina’s Roast Chicken and Bread Salad

I’m so behind on updating this website, it’s ridiculous. We’ll see how many recipes I forget to post.

Anyway, my parents are in town and I tried out this new Ina recipe. It was great! I was wary of the 500 degree oven temperature, but had no issues. Made some minor changes (including halving the amount of dressing, which I’m glad I did, as the greens were still arguably overdressed).

15244342150_509ff1e74e_m

For the chicken 

1 whole chicken

1 hefty sprig rosemary (she uses thyme, but this is what I had fresh)

1 lemon

dried thyme

salt and pepper

3-4 slices country bread (I used sourdough)

For the salad

6 cups arugula (I used an arugula mix and some delicate lettuce from the CSA)

2 tbsp currants (I used dried cherries)

1 bunch scallions, sliced

For the dressing (I used half of what the recipe makes)

1/4 cup Champagne Vinegar

1 strong garlic clove, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tsp mustard

salt and pepper

Season chicken with salt, pepper and thyme. Ina lets this rest in the fridge for 24-48 hours. I don’t plan that far ahead and let it rest for like 5 hours. Quarter lemon -stuff in chicken cavity with rosemary. Tie legs together.

Preheat oven to 500.

Line cast-iron skillet with a layer of sourdough bread. Place chicken on top, breast side up. Cook for a half hour. Turn over and cook another 15 minutes. Remove from oven, cover with foil and allow to rest for 30 minutes.

Whisk together salad dressing. Put half aside for another time – dress greens with remaining dressing. Fold in fruit and scallions.

Carve chicken into chunks and cut bread into pieces (it should be crispy and soaked with chicken fat). Layer dressed greens on a platter. Top with chicken and bread and serve.

1 Comment

Filed under poultry, salads

One response to “Ina’s Roast Chicken and Bread Salad

  1. Pingback: Our Favorite Recipes of 2014 | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

