Moo Goo Gai Pan

I’m sort of surprised I haven’t made this before, since it’s one of those foods I crave when I’m sick. But realistically, it’s pretty similar to chicken with snow peas or a basic chicken stir fry. This was the perfect clean-out-the-fridge lunch recipe on my day off because I had all the ingredients hanging out in my fridge or freezer.

1 6 oz chicken breast

6 oz chicken thighs (two small ones)

1 bunch broccoli, cut into florets

3 carrots, peeled and cut into matchsticks

1 can sliced water chestnuts

4-8 oz sliced mushrooms (the more the better, but I had less than a box)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1-2 cups chicken broth

1 tbsp fresh ginger

1 tbsp corn starch

3 tbsp Chinese rice wine

about 3 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp oil (I used a combination sesame oil and coconut oil

salt and pepper

Heat oil in pan. Sautee chicken parts until almost cooked through with a little soy sauce (season with salt).

Add carrots and mushrooms and stir fry 1-2 minutes. Add broccoli and water chestnuts and stir fry 1-2 minutes (add a bit more soy sauce). Season with salt.

Combine chicken broth, ginger, corn starch and wine in a bowl. Pour over stir fry. Bring to a boil. Adjust seasoning if needed. When broccoli is done, the stir fry is ready. I had this as lettuce wraps because I’m avoiding carbs, but over white rice would be more standard. Serves six.

1 Comment

Filed under poultry

One response to “Moo Goo Gai Pan

  1. Pingback: Low Carb January Week 4 | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

