Chicken, Salsa, Peppers

This is barely a meal, but it was surprisingly tasty, so figured I’d note it. I’m wrapping up a friendly weight loss bet so for the next 2.5 days, I’m in “bro diet mode,” as my husband likes to call it. That means protien shakes, steamed veggies, chicken breast, almonds, etc. and not much of any of them. Related: I am currently hungry.

This was a super simple meal. In a nutshell: chicken + salsa + peppers + spices = success.

16363061387_e87d160145_m

1.5 pounds chicken breast

3/4 cup pico de gallo (I used Wegmans store bought but you can make your own easily enough, or use regular salsa. Tomatoes aren’t great right now, but I was impressed this stuff was pretty good anyway).

salt and pepper

taco seasoning (I used Penzey’s BOLD)

fajita seasoning (I used Penzey’s)

3 cups bell peppers (red, yellow, orange), cut into chunks

3 tsp olive oil

Heat oil in pan (I did two tsp in my cast iron, 1 tsp in my nonstick). Season chicken with salt, pepper and Taco seasoning. Begin sauteeing in pan.

While chicken is cooking, toss peppers with fajita seasoning. Add to other pan, turning frequently.

When chicken and peppers are done (chicken will take a bit longer, so add the peppers a little later), remove from heat. Top chicken with salsa. Serve with peppers.

Leave a comment

Filed under poultry

Leave a Reply

