Homemade Noodles for Chicken Soup

Homemade noodles do really bring homemade soup to the next level. I deviated from my meal plan to make this for dinner on Wednesday when I saw the recipe on Twitter (especially because John was feeling under the weather). I stuck with my own soup recipe, but made the noodles featured here on Cook In Dine Out.

Note: I wasn’t very precise when cutting these, so they almost ended up more like dumplings. Had I sliced them thinner I think I would have gotten it just right. As is, we still enjoyed this for days.

16672369845_9bd3d47643_q

For the noodles:

3 cups flour
1/4 tsp. salt (I probably used more)
3 large eggs
2-4 tbsp. water (I used closer to four)

Combine the flour and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook. T

urn the machine on the second lowest setting and add the eggs one at a time then the water 1 tablespoon at a time until the dough clumps together.

Remove the dough from the mixer and transfer to a floured work surface. Using your hands, knead the dough a few times. Divide the dough into six pieces. Working one a time, roll the dough out to 1/8-inch thickness then cut into strips 1/4-inch wide and about 4 to 6 inches long (a pizza wheel is good for this). Set aside on a floured baking sheet to dry out, making sure they’re only in one layer.

Now, after this, you have a couple of options. The recipe I used cooks these directly in the soup itself, during the last 10 minutes of cooking time. I simmered these in chicken broth, but drained them (keeping the broth) and stored them separately because I hate it when noodles seep up all the broth when you store them in the fridge as leftovers. Either is fine – I actually tested both methods, storing half one way and half the other way since we had made so much soup. While the noodles stored in soup did soak up some of the broth in the fridge, it wasn’t quite as bad as I expected.

I basically used my general chicken soup recipe, though I used closer to 1.5 pounds of thigh meat, and between 2-3 quarts stock (since some got soaked up when I cooked the noodles).

Leave a comment

Filed under soup

Leave a Reply

