Chicken Soup Base

I don’t know why I haven’t done this before. I basically made something between chicken noodle soup and chicken stock. Essentially, it’s chicken soup without the stock. I made stock and also had some cooked chicken meat, but didn’t think I’d be able to eat a bunch of soup this week. But I hate freezing starches. So I just made the soup without the starch. This way, next time I want chicken soup I can just defrost this and either make some rice or noodles to throw in, or add a can of white beans if I’m avoiding carbs. Easy enough.

2 quarts homemade chicken stock

1-1.5 cups cooked chicken

2 carrots, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

salt, to taste

2 chicken boullion cubes (optional; if you omit you’ll probably need a little more salt)

white pepper, to taste

1 tbsp fresh dill, chopped

1 tbsp fresh sage, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

Heat oil in pan. Sautee carrots, celery and onion in pan for a few minutes. Add soup, boullion, dill, fresh sage and some white pepper to soup. Simmer about 10 minutes. Check for seasoning (I didn’t need to add salt, but I did salt the vegetables while cooking). Freeze.

Leave a comment

Filed under poultry, soup

Leave a Reply

