Peanut Zoodles

I finally have jumped on the zoodles bandwagon. Zucchini noodles are a favorite of the low carb crowd. I didn’t really want to buy one of those spiralizer gadgets, but once I realized I could just use my old julienne peeler for these, I figured it was worth a shot when we got two big zucchinis in the CSA.

And they were really good! John was particularly a fan. They don’t keep terribly well as leftovers, but my idea to wrap said leftovers in summer roll wrappers worked pretty well (masks the sogginess). I definitely see myself using them in other noodles preparations. This recipe was the inspiration for the sauce.

18933763269_8c0de08228_q (1)

1 large zucchini

salt and pepper

1 cup chopped cilantro

2-3 tbsp chopped peanuts

2 scallions, chopped

1/3 cup chicken broth, plus more for thinning

2 tablespoons peanut butter

3/4 tablespoon honey

3/4 tablespoon soy sauce

1/3 tablespoon sriracha sauce

1/3 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

1 small garlic clove, crushed

Using a julienne peeler, cut zucchini into noodles. Salt and let drain in a collander over a bowl for 20 minutes (this softens or “cooks” the noodles).

In a small saucepan, combine ingredients broth through garlic and simmer a few minutes. If sauce is too thick (mine was), add more broth.

Toss noodles with sauce and remaining ingredients.

2 Comments

Filed under vegetarian

2 responses to “Peanut Zoodles

  1. Joy

    I am such a zoodles fan! In fact last night Dan called Zoodling a zucchini disposal method. I like them best neither salted or cooked, subbing for a cold noodle in an Asian-ish dish. Last night, I made chicken meatballs with garlic, scallion, ginger, etc. and then I made a basic Thai dressing: lime juice, sugar, fish sauce, chile flakes. I tossed in zoodles, peanuts, carrot ribbons and cilantro and topped it with the meatballs. We both loved it so much (and we have so much zucchini) I’m making it again tonight. With any presence of mind, I will take recipe notes and photos so I can blog it next week. Hooray for zoodles.

  2. Pingback: Recipe Variations for Potatoes, Zoodles and Burgers | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

