Chicken Involtini

This is my first time trying a recipe from the Nom Nom Paleo blog (we are not paleo) but we liked it so much that it won’t be our last. I’m not great at anything involving neat rolling, so mine weren’t the prettiest to look at, but they were certainly delicious. I also forgot to put the tomato sauce on the plate first, haha; hence the bunched sauce.

24093015702_1c5843a32f_q

4 sundried tomato halves (the ones I had were chopped and packed in oil so I just did about two tbsp worth and blotted the oil)

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (6 oz each-ish. I aimed for 24 oz total with a range of breast sizes and just divided up the slices relatively evenly)

salt and pepper 

¼ cup mayonnaise (I am not paleo so this was the store bought kind w/ olive oil)

2 tablespoons chopped basil

8 slices prosciutto (mine wasn’t so precisely sliced so I just did 4 oz)

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups marinara sauce (I used my homemade fresh tomato sauce that I freeze in the summer)

Preheat oven to 425.

Pound chicken breasts thin and season with salt and pepper.

Combine blotted tomatoes with basil and mayo. Divide in 4 and spread onto each breast. Roll breast into cylinder and cover with prosciutto.

Brush with olive oil.

Cook about 22 minutes or till about 155 degrees (recipe recommends 150 but I went a little on the safe side). Rest for five minutes and heat up tomato sauce. Slice chicken into rounds and serve over sauce.

Leave a comment

Filed under poultry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

