Recipe Variation: Brown Gravy Meatballs with Turkey

I really like this brown gravy recipe (meant for meatballs) that I got from Jen awhile back. So decided to do them again for the meatball project (with a couple of slight adaptations), this time using turkey because I had leftover uncooked turkey burgers that I knew I could easily transform into meatballs. This is the third way I’ve done brown gravy meatballs over the years – I think my favorite version was a mix of beef and turkey. But I definitely prefer straight turkey over straight beef, which got kind of greasy as I recall.

Blah blah blah, I’m rambling. Bottom line: good stuff. We had these with latkes which was a fun pairing.

27858818630_203a03dc23_q

For the gravy:
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups beef broth (I used Campbell’s canned, which tends to be more potent than boxed beef stock)
about 1 cup water, plus chicken broth if you need to further thin the sauce
1 beef boullion cube
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
splash of cream
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
4 oz or so sliced mushrooms (optional)
1 tbsp olive oil

For the meatballs:
1.5 pounds ground turkey
1/3 cup panko
1 tbsp heavy cream
salt and pepper
about 1 tbsp chopped parsley
about 1 tsp chopped thyme
about 1 tsp dried oregano
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 tbsp olive oil, plus more for browning

Note: I made these meatballs earlier in the day, and then later made the gravy. I’m guessing you probably could brown the meatballs, remove from the pan, make the gravy, and then cook everything together in the oven, streamlining this a bit. But I’m writing this out as I did it for the sake of the project.

To make the meatballs, combine all ingredients and shape into balls. Preheat oven to 350. In a Dutch oven, heat a bit of oil. Brown meatballs, about five minutes per side. Put into oven and cook another 10 minutes until meatballs are cooked through.

To make the gravy: Heat oil in pan. Sautee mushrooms 5-6 minutes (if using). Remove from pan.

Add butter to pan. Add flour and sautee a couple of minutes to make a roux. Add beef broth, Worcestershire sauce, boullion (breaking up into pieces), and water. Let simmer a few minutes. Stir in cream. If sauce seems too thick, add some chicken broth to thin it out. Add mushrooms and meatballs to pan and heat through. Sprinkle with parsley.

1 Comment

Filed under meatballs, poultry

One response to “Recipe Variation: Brown Gravy Meatballs with Turkey

  1. Pingback: Missy’s Meatball Project: A Summary | Missy's Recipes

Leave a Reply

