Moroccan Turkey Meatballs

I’ve made a couple of new recipes lately but nothing I think I’ll make again, so will probably skip chronicling them. But I can’t skip a meatball!

I found these fine, John found them great. This recipe was the inspiration, but I made several changes and adapted this for the pressure cooker. Serve with couscous.

29050224373_baa76a4e22_q

MEATBALLS:
1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs
1/4 cup dried currants (I subbed in dried cherries)
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I had to sub in some five spice because I’m out)
1 1/2 pounds ground turkey (original recipe uses beef)
1 large egg white
olive oil

SAUCE:
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon grated orange rind
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 cinnamon stick (remove after simmering)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 (28-ounce) can whole tomatoes, coarsely chopped (I forgot to chop these and should have)

To prepare meatballs, combine first 9 ingredients in a bowl; shape meat mixture into 30 meatballs. Switch pressure cooker to sautee function and add some oil and brown IN BATCHES to avoid crowding the pan. (I did not and had issues with sticking).

To prepare sauce, combine tomato paste and next 7 ingredients (through tomatoes). Add to pressure cooker and stir gently to coat. Cook for 20 minutes on manual, and let come down for 10 minutes to release pressure. Release and serve with couscous.

Leave a comment

Filed under meatballs, poultry, pressure cooker, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

