Daily Archives: May 10, 2017

Gyoza

A successful Japanese recipe on the books! To be fair, I also made negamaki less successfully – since mine fell apart, I’m going to leave this one off the website, but note for Japanese Challenge tracking purposes.

These gyoza were a big hit with my friend Rachel and her two kids, who love dumplings. They aren’t terribly hard, either – just time consuming, especially to wrap. This is from my Japanese Soul Cooking book.

34453113661_06f00fee6c_q.jpg

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under appetizers, japanese challenge, pork dishes, Uncategorized

Veal with Morels Sauce

I wish I would have immediately written this down because it was so good. This should be a relatively close approximation.

34197529250_8fb4745cf1_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, veal dishes

Easter Menu (Including Zuni Chicken)

I made a pretty epic feast for Easter. I am being lazy about writing out these recipes (especially Zuni chicken), so I’m just going to link to what we had for dinner.

Zuni chicken and bread salad

Roast potatoes

Pressure cooker risotto (using the milanese variation)

Asparagus with green goddess dressing

34453115271_45df72a4c8_q

Leave a comment

Filed under potato dishes, poultry, pressure cooker, rice dishes, Uncategorized

Spring Pasta with Ramp Pesto

I made this a couple of weeks go, so I’m having trouble remembering the exact recipe, but it turned out well, so hopefully this will at least make for a good guide.

34583759825_f4429cfd9e_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under pasta dishes, Uncategorized

Ramp Pesto

Good use of ramps! I loosely followed this recipe for inspiration. I used this later in pasta (recipe to follow) and it was delicious.

34197528580_dd1478980e_q

Continue reading

1 Comment

Filed under ingredients, Uncategorized, vegetarian

Parmesan Wedge Salad

I really liked the salad dressing here. It was fine as a wedge, but the dressing was a little scant given that much lettuce.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under salads, Uncategorized, vegetarian

Cubed Steak, Cuban-Style

Cubed steak was one of my least favorite meals growing up (keep in mind it’s a cheap cut of meat, and my parents didn’t help by grilling it to a char and serving it with my childhood nemesis, ketchup). Regardless, I haven’t really seen it much in the grocery store around here. When I spotted it in the store recently, and saw a recipe blog that I generally like also had a recipe for it, I figured I’d give it a try. I thought this recipe was quite good – John liked the flavors but not really the cut of meat, which I get. Pictured with a parmesan wedge, recipe to follow.

Note: I’ve been traveling, and I’m a few weeks behind on recipe uploading, to the point where I’m having trouble remembering specifics for a couple of made-up recipes. We’ll see how it goes catching up.

34453114111_dba5895645_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under beef dishes, pressure cooker, Uncategorized