Cubed Steak, Cuban-Style

Cubed steak was one of my least favorite meals growing up (keep in mind it’s a cheap cut of meat, and my parents didn’t help by grilling it to a char and serving it with my childhood nemesis, ketchup). Regardless, I haven’t really seen it much in the grocery store around here. When I spotted it in the store recently, and saw a recipe blog that I generally like also had a recipe for it, I figured I’d give it a try. I thought this recipe was quite good – John liked the flavors but not really the cut of meat, which I get. Pictured with a parmesan wedge, recipe to follow.

Note: I’ve been traveling, and I’m a few weeks behind on recipe uploading, to the point where I’m having trouble remembering specifics for a couple of made-up recipes. We’ll see how it goes catching up.

34453114111_dba5895645_q

8 pieces cubed steak (28 oz)
1 3/4 teaspoons adobo seasoning or garlic salt
black pepper, to taste
1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
1 cup water
1 small red bell pepper, sliced 1/4-inch thin strips
1/2 medium onion, sliced into 1/4-inch thin strips
1/3 cup green pitted olives plus 2 tablespoons of brine

Season beef with adobo or garlic salt (I used adobo), and black pepper.
Place into the pressure cooker, top with onions and peppers, pour tomato sauce and water over everything and add the olives along with some of the brine (liquid from the jar).
Cover and cook high pressure 25 minutes.
Natural release and serve (with sliced avocado, if desired).

Leave a comment

Filed under beef dishes, pressure cooker, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

