Chirashi

I’m calling this a work in progress because I didn’t get the sushi rice right. I used this recipe to make it but it came out too starchy – maybe I didn’t rinse it enough? My sister, who helped me with this dish, gets credit for the lovely presentation. I’ll try making sushi rice again and file as a separate recipe when I get it right.

35843510622_97a6c50b6b_q

4 cups sushi rice, prepared
8 thin slices sashimi-grade salmon
8 thin slices sashimi-grade tuna
sliced octopus (about 4 oz worth)

4 mint or shisho leaves
1/2 cucumber, sliced
1/2 cup green onions, sliced
pickled green onions, sliced
4 sour pickled plums
furikake, to garnish
4 tbsp salmon roe

Divide rice among four bowls. Divide various fish and garnishes among bowls artfully, arranging ingredients in sets.

Leave a comment

Filed under fish dishes, japanese challenge, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

