Daily Archives: May 18, 2015

Avocado Toast with Fried Egg and Marcona Almonds

One more great way to make avocado toast.

17816541895_d26c35915f_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under breakfast, vegetarian

Missy’s Old Fashioneds

This isn’t really significantly different than a classic Old Fashioned recipe, I just want to remember the ratio because these turned out so well for the “Mad Men” premiere last night.

17813783542_19ce290502_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under drinks

Swordfish Kabobs/Swordfish Sandwiches

Swordfish looked great at Wegman’s on Saturday so John and I decided to whip up some kabobs for a late night dinner. These turned out quite nicely, but I liked the leftovers even more when I turned them into a sandwich for lunch today.

17790252166_0c829ff855_q

17203459603_9ababe8266_m

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under fish dishes, sandwiches

Turkey Saltimbocca

My sage plant came back like crazy from last summer, so I see a lot of summer saltimbocca in our future. It’s one of those super-easy recipes, and you can always play with it (add cheese or lemon, use rose instead of white wine like I did here, use turkey, chicken or veal).

17816561055_19cbed6fa6_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under poultry

Grilled London Broil

Always a favorite that’s fallen a little out of our rotation. I overcooked this, and it was still delicious, which speaks to how good this improvised marinade worked out.

17790246736_7a45d3a122_q

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under beef dishes

Asparagus with Cilantro Sauce

I saw this sauce while I was reading Men’s Health or Runner’s World or something yesterday, and since I was planning to make asparagus for dinner, it seemed like a nice way to jazz it up. It also works generally as a condiment – used it on my sandwich today and plan to serve it with Thai grilled chicken tomorrow.

Continue reading

2 Comments

Filed under vegetarian